Ancient Near-Eastern Studies

Dead Sea Scrolls

When I heard some [people] saying, “If I do not find it in the ancient Scriptures, I will not believe the Gospel”; on my saying to them, “It is written,” they answered me, “that remains to be proved.” But to me Jesus Christ is the ancient documents; His cross, and death, and resurrection, and the faith which is by Him, are undefiled archives of antiquity, by which I desire, through your prayers, to be justified.

Ignatius of Antioch (d. 117?), “Letter to the Philadelphians,” in Invitation to Christian Spirituality, 55-56

Leave a Reply

