the one that brung ya

I don’t know any praise songs based on Psalm 66 that include v. 10-12. After an anthemic kickoff that could make a Chris Tomlin out of anybody, we end up here:

10 For you, God, tested us;
you refined us like silver.

11 You brought us into prison
and laid burdens on our backs.

12 You let people ride over our heads;
we went through fire and water,
but you brought us to a place of abundance.

Maybe that’s in the third verse I’ve been skipping.

I’ve been invited lately to think about God’s love as something big enough to allow for both the richness of the best moments in life and the disasters I may bring on myself, or which may come in the wake of occurrences out of my control. God’s open hand to me – God’s goodness, the YES of Christ to all God’s promises – is also the hand that allows me bound, burdened, buried.

Shout for joy to God, all the earth.

Brought into prison, brought to abundance. Where can I go from the Lord?

20 Praise be to God,
who has not rejected my prayer
or withheld his love from me!

S’pose I’ll dance with the one that brung me.

Leave a Reply

