12. grant that I may seek… rather to love, than to be loved

Here it is: The fulfillment of the law. 

The law: All these things we want to do right so we can be right – so we can get loved. And along comes Jesus, walking on the water. 

“I came not to abolish the law, but to fulfill it,” he says. So we pull out our notebooks and scratch out our old holiest ideas and get ready for the rebrand. 

But he didn’t mean he was going to tell us how to do it, how to finally be perfect as God, good as it gets and top of the charts, everybody’s favorite all the time. He meant he was going to do it. 

To love to such an extent, to such completion, that the law is satisfied in every Godward, self-emptied moment.

It’s hard to get past that place of 

“Do you love me now? 

“What must I do to be saved?”

and put down my pen, and walk into the water, and be born of the Spirit. 

We get done with the law-shame of failure to live up to, the law-fear of consequence for the breaking, and get on with the love.

Here it comes: Holy Week. 

John 12:27-36

I’m writing short reflections on the Franciscan peace prayer through Lent. The series begins with 1A, right over here.

Leave a comment